Around the village, which is built on the side of the mountain, there are some buildings that testify that the area was inhabited before the 16th century. Hidden from the sea due to fear of pirates in the past, it has rich natural beauty, unique paths and the charming architecture of antiquated Corfiot houses.
One of the special attractions of the area is the church of Saint George, built on the apex of the hill.
There, after a beautiful walk one encounters the picturesque chapel. According to its frescoes, the church dates back to the late Middle Ages. The frescoes are probably of St. George the High, presumably dating to 1420. Documentation, written by the notary Ioannis Sparmiotis, mentions the sale of a vineyard to William De Hugoth, a representative of the monastery of St. George the High, Vassilis and George Paramoni. The same church is also mentioned in the will of the feudal lord Arsenis Deligotis, written in 1469 by Ioannis Polylas.
It comprises one-room, with a semicircular arch, built with clay blocks and also has bricks in the horizontal joints. The surviving frescoes are in poor condition and probably date back to the 14th or 15th century, as previously mentioned.
The arched brick frame and the presence of bricks at the joints in the sanctuary suggest that it is a medieval temple.
It is worth noting that the noble family of the Deligotides branched from the Provencal house of De Hugoth. Members of this branch came to Corfu in the 14th century, during the time of the Andigavas, as local officials and became recipients of feudal goods from the “lords”. Apparently over the years they were Corfiotized.
The landscape from the hilltop is unique.
One can gaze at a large part of the island and take in the lovely view of the west coast of Corfu and the area of Mesi.
terrabook. “Βάτος“, https://greece.terrabook.com/el/corfu/page/vatos/\
“Στην περιοχή του Βάτου“, https://weatherpantokratoras.blogspot.com/2015/05/blog-post_20.html