In the heart of the homonymous verdant area, this Church hosts one of the oldest, biggest and most picturesque festivals of the island. This church was built by nuns of the monastery of Agios Theodoros, with the abbess Panosiotati Efrosini, according to Rodostamos, in replacement of the church of the “Great Savior Christ in Kardaki”, which once existed nearby.
This church, so named because of its proximity to the homonymous source, was destroyed in 1799 when the Russo-Turks besieged Corfu occupied by the French Democrats. Every year, on the day of the celebration, festivals are held here, the earliest, largest and most alluring of Corfu which attracts hundreds of believers and visitors of the island.
ΣΟΥΡΤΖΙΝΟΣ, Γεώργιος Χ. (2008), “Τοπωνύμια: γλωσσικές μαρτυρίες στην ιστορική διαδρομή της Κέρκυρας”, Ιστορική – Λαογραφική Εταιρεία Κέρκυρας, Θεσσαλονίκη, β’ έκδοση, σελ. 37