The Kaiser’s observatory, which dominates the apex of Pelekas settlement, is the last and most elaborate work of Kaiser Wilhelm II, the
philhellenic emperor of Germany.
Historical information about the Kaiser’s Observatory
Emperor Wilhelm II loved the island of Corfu very much; consequently, in 1907 he bought the Achilleion Palace from Princess Sissy of Austria, making it his residence on the island.
As he actively assisted in the excavations of Agios Theodoros in Garitsa, there are many buildings and landmarks that bear his name, such as the Kaiser Bridge which was built for direct access from the Achilleion Palace to the beach below.
Shortly before his death, in 1914, he left a unique gift for the locals and visitors to the island; his observatory, where he found peace and enjoyed the amazing vista and breathtaking, surrounding beauty of oil-rich Corfu.
The Kaiser’s observatory or throne attracts visitors from all over the world for its stunning views and the detail that makes it stand out.
A heavy iron door with railings,more than 100 years old, leads to a lush garden with olive trees and verdant vegetation; an isolated spot with abundant natural shade.
The picture perfect landscape will for sure enchant you, which is also why many love-struck couples choose to lock their love at this observation point; carving their initials onto a padlock which they place on the railings of the lookout point.
A steep stone path leads to theKaiser’s Observatory.
To reach the site of the Kaiser Observatory proceed through the traditional village of Pelekas and take the ascending road that leads to the highest point of the area.
It is a route which is recommended for lovers of walks, as, en route, there are many shops, restaurants and cafes with an equally impressive outlook.